Hamza Ready to Defend Title at 2024 Squash Championships

Hamza Ready to Defend Title at 2024 Squash Championships

PkRevenue.com – Houston, USA, is set to host the 2024 WSF World Junior Squash Championships this July, where Pakistan’s Hamza Khan will defend his title.

The event will take place at the Houston Squash Club from July 12 to 23 and will feature nearly 250 of the top junior squash players from around the globe.

For the first time in the history of the World Junior Squash Championships, the tournament will feature concurrent men’s and women’s team events alongside the individual competitions. A total of 248 athletes aged 18 and under are expected to compete in these four categories.

Notable participants in the women’s draw include Egypt’s Amina Orfi, a 16-year-old who has won the last two editions and is currently ranked World No.11 on the professional circuit, and her compatriot, World No.16 Fayrouz Aboelkheir.

Other standout players are India’s Asian U17 Champion Anahat Singh, England’s European U19 Champion Amelie Haworth, and New Zealand’s Oceania U19 Champion Ella Lash.

In the men’s draw, Hamza Khan of Pakistan will face tough competition from Egypt’s Mohamed Zakaria, who lost to Khan in last year’s final, Colombia’s Pan American U19 Champion Juan Torres, and Egypt’s Marwan Assal, younger brother of former World No.1 and two-time World Junior Champion Mostafa Asal.

The USA, as hosts, have named a 12-player squad aiming for their first individual junior title since Amanda Sobhy’s 2010 victory in Cologne, Germany.

In the women’s draw, medal hopefuls include World No.63 Caroline Fouts and Pan American U19 Champion Samantha Jaffe, while in the men’s draw, Pan American U19 Bronze Medallist Alexander Dartnell and US U19 No.1 Rishi Srivastava will seek home court victories.

The team events will see a record 42 squads competing. Egypt, the defending women’s champions who have won the last eight editions, will field a strong team including three returning players: Fayrouz Aboelkheir, Amina Orfi, and Nadien Elhammamy, joined by Janna Galal.

England, the defending men’s champions, will feature a new squad comprising Abdallah Eissa, Bailey Malik, Dylan Roberts, and Yusuf Sheikh, aiming to secure their country’s sixth men’s title.

Team USA will be represented by Alexander Dartnell, Zane Patel, Rishi Srivastava, and Rustin Wiser in the men’s team event, and Caroline Fouts, Dixon Hill, Samantha Jaffe, and Riya Navani in the women’s.

This year’s event will also see the debut of teams from the Philippines and Macau, China, each sending a men’s team for the first time.