Scotland Announce Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Scotland Announce Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Scotland have unveiled its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, co-hosted by West Indies and USA.

The squad features the return of two seasoned campaigners, top-order batter Michael Jones and fast bowler Brad Wheal, who will add valuable experience to the team.

Both Jones and Wheal were part of Scotland’s T20 World Cup squad in 2022, but will miss the upcoming T20I tri-series in the Netherlands. However, their inclusion in the World Cup squad highlights their significance to Scotland’s ambitions in the marquee event.

Richie Berrington will once again lead the Scottish charge, aiming to build upon their impressive performance in the 2022 World Cup, where they famously defeated the West Indies.

“To have Michael Jones and Brad Wheal available, their experience from previous T20 World Cups is crucial for the group,” explained head coach Doug Watson. “Their prior experience will be invaluable as we integrate them into the squad.”

Watson emphasized the importance of continuity while acknowledging the recent lack of game time for some players. “The bulk of the squad has been together for a while and performed exceptionally well in both the 50-over and T20 qualifiers last summer. Maintaining this core while integrating returning players is key.”

Looking towards the tri-series and beyond, Watson expressed optimism. “The excitement is definitely building within the squad as the World Cup approaches. The upcoming games against Netherlands and Ireland will be crucial for sharpening our competitive edge. We’ve been focusing on training, but now it’s time to test ourselves against quality opposition.”

“This World Cup presents a golden opportunity for Scotland to shine on a global stage,” Watson continued. “While franchise leagues offer these players a platform to showcase their skills, the World Cup remains the pinnacle of T20 cricket. From a personal and team perspective, this is a massive tournament.”

Scotland finds itself placed in Group B alongside England, Australia, Oman, and Namibia. Teams have the flexibility to make changes to their squads until May 25th. However, any alterations after this deadline will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

The full Scotland squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 is as follows:

• Richie Berrington (c)

• Matthew Cross

• Brad Currie

• Chris Greaves

• Oli Hairs

• Jack Jarvis

• Michael Jones

• Michael Leask

• Brandon McMullen

• George Munsey

• Safyaan Sharif

• Chris Sole

• Charlie Tear

• Mark Watt

• Brad Wheal