West Indies Substitute King with Mayers for T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies Substitute King with Mayers for T20 World Cup 2024

West Indies cricket team has been compelled to alter their lineup for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 due to an unfortunate injury setback.

Brandon King, the opening batsman, faced challenges during the group stage matches. However, he showed promising form with a quickfire 23 off 13 balls against England in the Super Eight opener.

Regrettably, King was forced to retire hurt due to a side strain during the match, which West Indies lost by eight wickets. This injury has ruled him out for the remainder of the tournament.

To fill this crucial gap, West Indies has called upon the seasoned Kyle Mayers, a player approved by the ICC Event Technical Committee to join the squad immediately.

Mayers brings a wealth of experience, having featured in 37 T20Is for West Indies, boasting a commendable strike-rate of 140.61. Known for his adaptability across various roles in the top order, Mayers is expected to provide stability and firepower.

Primarily recognized as an all-rounder in longer formats, Mayers has also demonstrated his bowling capabilities sparingly for the team.

West Indies, led by Rovman Powell, will integrate Mayers into the squad as they prepare for their upcoming fixtures. They are scheduled to face USA in Barbados followed by a crucial encounter against South Africa in Antigua this weekend.

The replacement process at the T20 World Cup adheres strictly to the regulations set by the ICC Event Technical Committee, which includes esteemed members like Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket, and Johnny Grave, CEO of Cricket West Indies.

This alteration in the squad aims to fortify West Indies’ campaign as they strive for success in the ongoing T20 World Cup. With Mayers’ inclusion, the team hopes to overcome recent challenges and deliver formidable performances in the remaining matches.

West Indies Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

Rovman Powell (c)

Alzarri Joseph

Johnson Charles

Roston Chase

Shimron Hetmyer

Jason Holder

Shai Hope

Akeal Hosein

Shamar Joseph

Gudakesh Motie

Nicholas Pooran

Andre Russell

Sherfane Rutherford

Romario Shepherd

Kyle Mayers