Meagan Good served as Co-Chair at Frederick Douglass Awards

Meagan Good served as Co-Chair at Frederick Douglass Awards

On Friday, June 7, actress Meagan Good took center stage as an Honorary Co-chair at the New York Urban League’s prestigious 58th Annual Frederick Douglass Awards Gala.

The event, held at the elegant Ziegfeld Ballroom and hosted by journalist DeMarco Morgan, paid tribute to individuals who have made significant strides in promoting equality and justice.

The Frederick Douglass Medallion was bestowed upon three distinguished leaders: Aurora James, George Gresham, and Renee McClure. Aurora James, the visionary founder of the 15% Pledge, was recognized for her efforts in advancing economic equity by advocating for major retailers to dedicate 15% of their shelf space to Black-owned businesses.

George Gresham, President of 1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East, was honored for his tireless work championing workers’ rights and healthcare accessibility. Renee McClure received accolades for her unwavering commitment to social justice and racial equity.

In addition to the Medallion recipients, Camille Joseph-Goldman was celebrated with the Ann S. Kheel Award. Known for her leadership in education and community development, Joseph-Goldman has been a powerful advocate for educational equity and empowerment, making substantial impacts on the communities she serves.

The gala was a star-studded affair with Meagan Good accompanied by actor Jonathan Majors. The evening also saw appearances from Jasmine Ellis Cooper, star of “Summer House: Martha’s Vineyard,” and Manhattan Borough President Mark Levine.

The Frederick Douglass Awards Gala is a hallmark event for the New York Urban League, underscoring the organization’s ongoing commitment to advancing equality and justice. This year’s honorees exemplify the spirit of Frederick Douglass through their profound contributions to economic, social, and racial equity.