Pakistan Beat New Zealand in first T20i Women Cricket Series

Pakistan Beat New Zealand in first T20i Women Cricket Series

Pakistan women cricket team secured a historic win against New Zealand in the first T20 International at the University of Otago Oval in Dunedin on Sunday, marking their first-ever victory over the White Ferns in the T20 format.

Chasing a target of 128 runs, the Pakistani women chased down the total with seven wickets in hand.

Pakistan’s opening duo, Shawaal Zulfiqar and Muneeba Ali, set the tone for the chase with a solid 40-run partnership. Muneeba, who contributed 23 runs off 24 balls, provided a platform for the incoming batters. Captain Nida Dar, seizing the moment, elevated herself up the order, forming a crucial 51-run partnership with Shawaal.

Shawaal Zulfiqar, playing in her sixth T20I and making her debut on New Zealand soil, showcased remarkable confidence as she scored her highest T20I score of 41 runs off 42 balls, including seven boundaries. Captain Nida Dar, with a quickfire 23 off 14 balls, kept the momentum going.

After the departure of Shawaal and Nida, the experienced pair of Bismah Maroof and Aliya Riaz took charge, steering Pakistan to a seven-wicket triumph with 10 balls to spare. Aliya Riaz remained unbeaten on 25 off 12 balls, hitting two fours and a six to seal the victory in the 19th over.

Earlier in the day, New Zealand, opting to bat first, posted a total of 127 for six in their allotted 20 overs. The Pakistani bowlers put up an impressive display, with right-arm fast bowler Fatima Sana leading the charge. Sana, who returned to the side after missing the Bangladesh tour due to injury, scalped three wickets for just 18 runs in her four-over spell.

Apart from Sana’s stellar performance, Nida, Diana Baig, and Aliya Riaz also chipped in with crucial wickets. Maddy Green emerged as the top scorer for New Zealand, contributing 43 runs off 28 balls.

The Player of the Match award rightfully went to Fatima Sana for her outstanding bowling performance, setting the tone for Pakistan’s historic victory.

The series now moves to the second T20I, scheduled for Tuesday, December 5, at the same venue. The third and final T20I of the series will take place in Queenstown on Saturday, December 9.

Scores in Brief:

• New Zealand: 127-6, 20 overs (Maddy Green 43 not out, Suzie Bates 28; Fatima Sana 3-18).

• Pakistan: 132-3, 18.2 overs (Shawaal Zulfiqar 41, Aliya Riaz 25 not out, Muneeba Ali 23, Nida Dar 23; Sophie Devine 2-23).

Series Schedule:

• December 5: 2nd T20I, Dunedin (1 p.m. local time)

• December 9: 3rd T20I, Queenstown (1 p.m. local time)

• December 12: 1st ODI, Queenstown (11 a.m. local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

• December 15: 2nd ODI, Christchurch (2 p.m. local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

• December 18: 3rd ODI, Christchurch (2 p.m. local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × four =