FBR issues broadening of tax base jurisdictions for Karachi

KARACHI: Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) has divided territorial jurisdictions of tax offices in order to identify potential taxpayers in Karachi city – the commercial hub of the country, FBR officials said on August 24, 2019.

The FBR empowered Regional Tax Office (RTO) II and RTO III to identify persons having taxable income but not registered with tax authorities.

According to revised jurisdiction of commissioners of broadening of tax base (BTB) the RTO-II Karachi will exercise powers over civil districts of Karachi Division of Sindh Province, within the limits of areas, included: Saddar Town, Lyari Town, Jamshed Town, Liaquatabad, SITE, Baldia, Orangi, DHA, Clifton, Kemari Town, Clifton Cantt, Kemari Cantt and Manora Cantt.

The FBR created a new BTB unit at RTO-III Karachi empowering over all cases of persons who are not registered under the Income Tax Ordinance, 2001, who:

(a) are carrying on business within the territorial jurisdiction of following areas of Karachi Division of Sindh Province:

Gulberg Town

Gadap Town

New Karachi

North Nazimabad

New Nazimabad

Korangi Cantonment



Shah Faisal Town

Malir Town

Faisal Cantonment

Malir Cantonment

Bin Qasim


In respect of any other person who reside within the territorial jurisdiction of areas specified at para (a) above;

Who have been issued notices under sub-section (2) of Section 181 of Income Tax Ordinance, 2001, by the commissioner or his sub-ordinate officers.

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.