Pat Cummins Achieves Back-to-Back T20 World Cup Hat-Tricks

Pat Cummins Achieves Back-to-Back T20 World Cup Hat-Tricks

Australia’s premier fast bowler, Pat Cummins, etched his name into the record books by achieving a second consecutive hat-trick at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Cummins made history in St. Vincent on Saturday, becoming the first player to secure hat-tricks in consecutive T20 World Cup matches, showcasing his exceptional skill and consistency on the world stage.

Cummins initially accomplished this remarkable feat against Bangladesh on Thursday, achieving the hat-trick over two overs. His victims included key players, emphasizing his ability to deliver under pressure.

Not resting on his laurels, Cummins repeated the achievement against Afghanistan, dismissing Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, and Gulbadin Naib with three consecutive deliveries. This double hat-trick is a testament to his dominance and precision as a fast bowler.

This historic moment marks just the eighth instance of a hat-trick in Men’s T20 World Cup history and the first time a player has accomplished it multiple times. Cummins’ extraordinary performance has set a new benchmark in the tournament, inspiring both teammates and cricket fans worldwide.

Cummins joins an elite group of bowlers who have taken a hat-trick at a Men’s T20 World Cup. This exclusive club includes cricket legends such as Brett Lee (2007), Curtis Campher (2021), Wanindu Hasaranga (2021), Kagiso Rabada (2021), Karthik Meiyappan (2022), and Josh Little (2022). His back-to-back hat-tricks highlight his exceptional talent and place him among the greatest bowlers in T20 history.

Cummins’ remarkable performance is not just a personal milestone but also a significant boost for the Australian team. His ability to deliver crucial wickets at key moments can be a game-changer, providing his team with a strategic advantage in high-stakes matches.

As the tournament progresses, all eyes will be on Cummins to see if he can continue his stellar form and lead Australia to further glory.

Hat-Tricks at Men’s T20 World Cups

Pat Cummins (Australia) 2024 v Afghanistan

Pat Cummins (Australia) 2024 v Bangladesh

Josh Little (Ireland) 2022 v New Zealand

Karthik Meiyappan (UAE) 2022 v Sri Lanka

Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) 2021 v England

Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) 2021 v South Africa

Curtis Campher (Ireland) 2021 v Netherlands

Brett Lee (Australia) 2007 v Bangladesh

This tournament continues to deliver unforgettable moments, and Cummins’ historic achievement is a highlight that will be remembered for years to come.